Great News!

My first article for Constant Content was rejected! 😉

It actually wasn’t that big of a deal at all. They wanted me to change “earth” to “Earth” (whoops) and reformat another sentence, which in all fairness did read kind of funky on a second glance. Resubmitted and awaiting approval!

Okay, but the real great news – had my interview yesterday for WritersDepartment and was offered a freelance position! That’s geared more toward academic writing (with some business), so I haven’t logged in yet because this weekend I’m going to Dad’s for the holiday. Happy St. Pat’s, by the way!

Even better news? Last night I checked my email and was also offered an editing internship with a publishing house. Guys, I am on FIRE right now. It’s only $50 stipends per edit and lasting 3-6 months, but the experience is what is most important there.

A week ago today, I woke up utterly unemployed. Today I now have two freelance writing gigs and I’m an editing intern for a publishing house.

If you ever wondered how boring I really am in real life, I celebrated this news with a new computer chair and a large Sprite from Wendy’s. I did start my low-carb diet on Monday, but I’ve only half-assed it so far. I mean, other than the Sprite yesterday (and maybe a few Girl Scout cookies…), I did well! In all fairness, I only ever half-ass my diet the first week or two. You know, I’ve got to get used to it! XD

I probably won’t update this weekend as I’ll be out of town and swamped with homework. It’s my last term – that’s what I have to keep telling myself. I just want to be done! And besides that I have to create a schedule for myself to start next week! Ah, this is all so exciting! I hope I get money rolling in soon! Especially since Big is wanting to take a cruise in June!

Oh man, that just made me think of taxes…anyone doing freelance writing or otherwise self-employed? How do you deal with taxes?

Dee

1 thought on “Great News!”

Leave a Reply

