Looking Forward

I realize now that yesterday’s post was just one big bitch fest and I apologize. I think it was necessary because I needed a platform to tell what really happened, even if my audience is composed of complete strangers to whom I now probably seem crazy.

If you read yesterday’s post and you’re still here – thank you.

This is not a bitch blog and I don’t want to give the impression that it was. I’ve just had a very bad few months and there was no way for me to go forward with a personal blog without having gotten it off my chest. I actually feel loads better knowing it’s out there in the open.



I’ve just gotten off track and clicked that button twice and now there’s two lines and I haven’t the slightest idea how to get rid of them. Sorry.

Okay, so going out with Mr. Beetle tonight. Going to have Japanese and then play Pokémon, I think. I’ve decided to dust off the old hot rollers in attempt to try something new which I’m sure will probably end horrifically as all my hair attempts do, but I just…want to look pretty, I guess. I have very thin and fine hair, so most hairstyles look awful and expose thin spots. Curls often cover it because I have very curl-prone hair, so I can get some major volume if I try at it. I just also have very frizzy hair, so there’s a thin line to walk in taming it!

I have a career placement meeting Thursday with my college and a mock interview, so I’m trying to prepare for that. I’m rotten at interviews, though, so my nerves are shot and it’s not even a real interview!

As for actual work, I’ve started a few smaller streams of income that I can hopefully build up in the meantime. I’ve started a YouTube account and loaded a few videos doing that whole surprise toy opening thing (if you don’t know about it, you probably don’t have kids in your life). I’ve also been buying things on the cheap and flipping them (mostly stuff I’ve gotten from sales). A few months ago my sister and I hit some major sales and got some serious deals – I’m talking clothes and shoes for a quarter apiece. Cute clothes! My favorite maxi skirt and jeggings came from this sale and cost a quarter for each! We ended up spending about $50 together and we retailed at over $1200. Seriously. So I’ve been working through that stock and selling the clothes off on Facebook groups and Letgo. If you know of any better outlets for selling clothes, though, please let me know!

I recently read that you should have three hobbies: one to make you money, one to keep you fit, and one that you enjoy. So, I decided to pick up something I haven’t done since I was little – making paper from other recycled paper goods. If it goes as well as I remember it going, I might open an Etsy shop for recycled goods. So that’s a potential for hobby which makes me money.

As for keeping fit, that just sounds miserable. I’ve always dabbled in yoga, but that’s more for vegging me out and less for making me fit (let’s be honest, it’s going to take a hell of a lot more than yoga to get my ass in shape). I did, however, think maybe doing a 5k could be fun. I say that now from a very comfortable butterfly chair in which I have sat most of the day, only getting up to eat, pee, or take the dog out. But apparently there’s a program called Couch to 5k and it’s for absolute beginnings to get you ready in 30 days. And I’m not even necessarily saying I would run or even jog the whole thing. It just seems like something fun to do, I think.

As for hobby I enjoy, I may have too many of those already – eating, watching Netflix, playing Xbox, living a better life via Sims 4. What I’m going to do, though, is focus more on writing. It’s my passion and what I truly want to do with my life. And while I’m realistic and know being able to support myself off writing alone is a longshot, it’s not going to stop me. I would write no matter what and always will, even if it’s just for myself or friends. It’s just that big a part of me.

A real job is something I need, though. I’ve been scouring job boards for positions in Columbus (close enough to commute until I can move there) or remote positions. I think I mentioned this in yesterday’s post, but I’m look for fulltime $15/hr or salaried $24,000. I think I’ll be okay on that and can cover my expenses.

Good news: Dad had about a million totes in the attic for me to go through and he’s been saving me up stuff he finds at auctions or estate sales, which is kind of his thing. I pretty much have everything except cutlery and a dinette set. Seriously, he’s got two totes of our older towels that he put up from the divorce, he’s got two totes of pots, pans, and kitchen utensils. He even put up a napkin holder for me! And I didn’t know he’d set aside out old leather couch and my grandma’s chair (which just needs reupholstered and it’s a quick tack job). So I’m actually in pretty good shape. Just minor stuff and things I can deal without at first.

It’s just getting the job and getting out of here. But things are looking up!

Dee

Leave a Reply

